2021-2022 Annual Report

September 1, 2021 – August 31, 2022

Journeying Toward Reconciliation

ASBA is committed to responding to the Calls to Action of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada; celebrating and recognizing Indigenous voices in Alberta; and, honouring First Nations, Métis and Inuit families and communities.

Honouring Spirit: Indigenous Student Awards

Each year, ASBA hosts the Honouring Spirit: Indigenous Student Awards to recognize First Nations, Métis and Inuit students who model strength and commitment in the pursuit of their personal education path and embrace their own gifts, strengths and potential while celebrating the ways of their people.

In 2022, over 270 students from across the province were nominated for this prestigious award. The 12 recipients stood out due to their dedication, generosity and resilience, among many other impressive attributes.

The Honouring Spirit Awards were held in person for the first time since 2019 at Government House, and were attended by dignitaries such as the Honourable Salma Lakhani, AOE B.Sc., LLD (Hon), Lieutenant Governor of Alberta, and the Honourable Adriana LaGrange, Minister of Education.

Looking ahead, ASBA will continue to celebrate Indigenous community members, prioritize Indigenous voices in educational opportunities and incorporate Indigenous priorities through important advocacy work.

“The determination, resiliency and community spirit these students have shown serves as a great model of inspiration for others. I am both humbled and honoured to recognize this year’s recipients, celebrate their accomplishments and learn from their capacity to excel and lead.”

Marilyn Dennis,
President, ASBA

2022 Award recipients

Kindergarten-Grade 3

North: Korianna Ballard,
Grade 3, Ardmore

Central: Kianna Redcrow,
Grade 3, Edmonton

South: Justice Luther,
Grade 2, Fort Macleod

Grades 7-9

North: Parker Flett,
Grade 9, Fort McMurray

Central: Ryan Leclerc,
Grade 8, Sylvan Lake

South: Marlee Elizabeth Rose Wolfleg, Grade 7, Calgary

Grades 4-6

North: Michael Gambler Gilks,
Grade 6, Fort McMurray

Central: Malin Snow, Grade 4, Breton

South: Feather Belle Annette Bear-Bull, Grade 5, Calgary

Grades 10-12

North: Daelynne Rebecca Stevens, Grade 12, Fort McMurray

Central: George Houle,
Grade 12, Goodfish Lake

South: Keegan Buffalo,
Grade 12, Tsuut’ina

A special thanks to ASBA’s Indigenous Advisory Council for their contributions and involvement with the awards and celebration:

Elder Charlie Fox, Blackfoot, Kainai First Nation, Treaty 7 representative

Elder Theresa Strawberry, Cree and Saulteaux, O’Chiese First Nation, Treaty 6 representative

Roy Pogorzelski, Lethbridge, Métis representative

Arlene Twin, Swan River and Sucker Creek First Nations, Treaty 8 representative

error: Content is protected !!